You are here: Home pageMonumentsWooden Architecture

Wooden Architecture


Complex of Shelter lodges at Pustevny (Hermitages)

Soubor útulen na Pustevnách

The place was named after hermits, who had lived here and the last of whom died in 1874. Wooden structures built in the national style by the noted Slovak architect Dušan Jurkovič dominate at Pustevny.

Dolní Lomná Ethnographical Area

The lovely area of Matice Slezská (Silesian Foundation) consists of stylish timbered cottages and also two natural amphitheatres.

Chapel of St. Cyril and St. Methodius - Hlavatá u Bílé

Chapel of St. Cyril and St. Methodius (Kaple Sv. Cyrila a Sv. Metoděje) from 1922. This concerns a small pseudo-folk chapel of northern type with decoratively carved windows and columns. Open to the public.

Chapel of St. Cyril and St. Methodius - Radhošť

Chapel of St. Cyril and St. Methodius (Kaple Sv. Cyrila a Sv. Metoděje) in Byzantine style, the building was consecrated in 1898. Mosaics in eight windows display events from the lives of Cyril and Methodius, as well as St. Hedvig, St. Ludmila, St. Václav and St. Jan Nepomuk. A lookout is open in the interior with lovely views.

Chapel of the Blessed Virgin Most Holy - Čeladná

z roku 19636 připomíná miniatruní napodobeninu Jurkovičových staveb na Pustevnách. V blízkosti kapličky se nachází altánek nad pramenem Cyrilky.

Chapel of the Holy Cross - Hájek u Lískovce

Chapel of the Holy Cross was enlarged into its current form in 1834. It is built entirely of wide planks. Added before the entrance are statues of the Blessed Virgin and the Saviour, located on the side of a stone stairway leading down to the well. Entry by telephone arrangement with ŘKF Frýdek.

Church of St. Katherine - Ostrava-Hrabová

Church of St. Katherine. The original church dates from 1564. In 2002, it was completely destroyed by fire. A replica was already consecrated in the Fall of 2004. This involves a type of Silesian wooden single-nave churches from larch wood, surrounded by a small cemetery.

Church of St. Katherine - Štramberk-Tamovice

Church of St. Katherine (Kostel Sv. Kateřiny) from the 14th century. This small church has some original architectural elements – Gothic victory arch, a window with tracery and quarried portal side entrance. Located nearby is part of an old Calvary, the Proskov chapel and the former Tamovice mill with fish pond.

Church of St. Peter and St. Paul - Hněvošice

Church of St. Peter and St. Paul (Kostel Sv. Petra a Pavla) from 1730. Furnishings for the most part are period and date from the period the church was built. Hanging in the spire is a late Gothic bell.

Church of the Archangel Michael - Řepiště

Church of the Archangel Michael (Kostel Sv. A rchanděla Michaela) from 1652. The current appearance of the church is influenced by reconstruction in the first half of the 20th century. Mass every Sunday and on religious holidays.

Komorní Lhotka

Komorní Lhotka

A nice development of national wooden architecture of the Těšín type from the 18th century is located here.

Kotul´s Log-Cottage

Kotulova dřevěnka

It ranks among the oldest national log-houses in the Těšín Region. It was built in 1781 and it is the last evidence of the original development in the area of present-day Havířov.

Old wooden Catholic bell tower - Rýmařov

Old wooden Catholic bell tower (Dřevěná starokatolická zvonice) from the end of the 19th century in the local section of Jamartice, in Rýmařov a unique building with preserved construction and decorative elements.

Renaissance single-nave timbered church - Guty

Renaissance single-nave timbered church (Renesanční jednolodní roubený kostel) from 1642 with striking Mediaeval designed material. The spire of the church was originally an independent bell tower that was attached to the body of the church by local craftsmen in 1781. Repaired in the years 1863 and 1877. Polychromes in the interior were introduced in 1642 by the painter Štěpán Sova of Nebor. Mass every Sunday and Wednesday. Pilgrimage on Sundays after the Feast of the Corpus Christi.

Spa Area in Karlova Studánka

Lázeňský areál v Karlově Studánce

It is an interesting wood architecture complex unit. It is a complex of wooden brick spa houses, influenced by the empire style from the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th centuries and which make up the historical core of the mountain- townlet of a unique type in the Moravian- Silesian Region.

The Chapel of St. Cyril and St. Methodius - Čeladná

The Chapel of St. Cyril and St. Methodius from 1936 is reminiscent of the miniature appearance of the Jurkovič buildings on Pustevny. Located in the vicinity of the small chapel is an arbour over the Cyrilky spring. Pilgrimage of St. Cyril and St. Methodius. Open to the public.

The Church of Ascension Day in Dolní Marklovice

from 1739 is a very unique structure with mural wall paintings of floral patterns that have been discovered only recently.

The Church of Corpus Christi in Guty

Kostel Božího těla v Gutech

ranks among the oldest (1563) of the wooden Beskydy churches. Its unique dominant feature is the L-shaped choir with arabesques decorations.

The Church of St. Andrew in Hodslavice

Kostel sv. Ondřeje v Hodslavicích

It has served church-goers since the second half of the 16th century and it is one of the oldest wooden churches in the Beskydy Mountains.

The Church of St. Anthony Paduánský

Kostel sv. Antonína Paduánského na hoře Prašivá

on Prašivá Mountain from 1640 was originally dedicated to Ignatius from Loyola. Since 1673 it has been dedicated to Anthony Paduánský, the patron saint of lovers.

The Church of St. Cyril and Methodius in Hrčava

the youngest (1936) of the wooden churches, at first sight appears to be very simple, however a richly engraved baptismal font is hidden inside. The borders of the Czech, Slovak and Polish Republics meet in the village of Hrčava. Three joint granite blocks with national coats of arms of the respective countries and their names have been erected here.

The Church of St. Frederick in Bílá

Kostel sv. Bedřicha na Bílé

A high slender steeple and structure of the main vessel resembling Scandinavian architecture, also ranks among the historically youngest churches.

The Church of St. Nicholas in Nýdek

Kostel sv. Mikuláše v Nýdku

under the fabulous Čantoryje Mountain from 1576, originally Protestant, since the 17th century Catholic. It has a valuable baroque interior.

The Church of St. Peter and Paul in Albrechtice

Kostel sv. Petra a Pavla v Albrechticích

from the 18th century with a cemetery that is structured in an interesting way.

The Church of St. Prokop and Barbara

Kostel sv. Prokopa a sv. Barbory

a somewhat exotic-appearing wooden church is located between Kunčice pod Ondřejníkem and Čeladná. It is from Transcarpathian Russia and it was transported to our country during the so-called First Republic. As to its architecture, the three stepped steeples will catch your eye at first sight.

The Church of the Holy Trinity in Gruň

Kostel Panny Marie na Starých Hamrech-Gruni

is attractive with by the decoration of the main vessel walls, cornice and timber decorations. Originally a single-nave building from 1887 it stood alone on the ridge as a landmark of the landscape and it was visible from a distance. At present it is largely hidden among trees.

Wooden Chapel of St. Hubert - Karlova Studánka

Wooden Chapel of St. Hubert (Dřevěná kaple Sv. Huberta) founded in the years 1757–1758. The painting of St. Hubert, which hangs above the main altar, was painted in 1758 by Jan Kryštof Handke. The ceiling painting also dates from the period the chapel was built.